Some New Trend


Guest Review! Elisa Reviews The Book Thief by Carrie Rollwagen
July 21, 2009, 11:58 pm
Filed under: News, Reviews, Contests

Click here to read this week’s chapter.

This week’s review comes to us from Elisa, one of the intrepid bloggers of Bike Skirt. Check out their new website!

book-thief-2I just finished reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I was sitting on the back stoop of my little apartment, letting the sun shine on me and my bare feet, gripped by this tragic story.  Death has been on my mind a lot lately and, as the narrator of this book, has been my friend this week. I am still processing it all, but what I can say, unwaveringly, is this:  Read it.  It is one of the best teen books I have ever read.

The Book Thief is an account of a little girl who is orphaned to a lovely man and his foul mouthed, big hearted wife. The girl learns to read and begins to steal books. The backdrop is Russia during World War II, and there is a Jew staying in their house. There are many tales interwoven into one as death takes you to all of the places he visited during those years. A beautifully written story that reads like a memoir and makes you sympathetic to Death and the humans who want to meet him.  And a little girl who is haunted by him.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

