Some New Trend


Dead Like Me by Carrie Rollwagen

click here to read this week’s chapter

SERIES REVIEW :: BY CARRIE ROLLWAGEN

deadlikemewasherAs you already know if you’ve listened to this week’s podcast, or if you’re one of the friends I’ve called on for errands (thanks for the Sprite, Kevin!), I’ve been in bed for the past week with the flu.

Is it swine flu? I’ve been asked that, say, 40 or 50 times since coming back to work yesterday. The answer: I don’t know. I like to think not. But it was bad.

I’m not sure how people survived the flu before they had Netflix Instant Queue. Oh, what’s that, historians? They didn’t? Well, I’m not surprised. I’d have been bored out of my mind without it.

I survived this week on lots of fluids, rest, Theraflu, and a quite a few movies. After exhausting my library rentals (all the Harry Potters, Robin Hood, Princess Bride) and my Netflix discs (Season 4.5 of Battlestar Galactica, Mad Men), it was time to explore new territory from my Instant Queue.

I’ve had Dead Like Me in my queue for awhile, but I just wasn’t in the mood. I figured it’d be dark and gloomy, derivative of Six Feet Under. In fact, it’s brilliantly original and completely entertaining.

George, Dead Like Me’s heroine, is a college drop-out with an attitude problem. (This “problem” is just a general sense of “why bother” that many of us go through, very often as teenagers.)

In the first episode, George is killed by getting hit on the head with wreckage falling from space, and that’s when things get interesting. Turns out she’s chosen to be a Grim Reaper. As such, she gets to keep her body and all the benefits (eating waffles, kissing boys) that come with it. But she has to deal with death daily.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen storytelling that explores the meaninglessness of life so well without getting depressing. The characters are interesting and the plots and dialogue are really funny. I love that Dead Like Me lets George have her melancholy without trying to weed it out.

For George and her fellow reapers, death is literally a part of everyday life, as routine as having coffee or going to work. For many of them, including George, death is also a license to really start living. I’m looking forward to Season Two.

